The Power of Karma

Blogger’s Note: I understand that Karma in eastern philosophy is differs from the one that I explain in this blog post. I do not intend to disregard where the origin of Karma comes from, nor do I intend to disrespect the eastern form of Karma. I am utilizing the view of Karma from a western perspective. I took a Robert L. Holmes definition of Karma to help this post. Holmes states: “The law of karma states that as we sow, so shall we reap; everything we do, say, or even think has consequences, good or bad, and sooner or later those consequences come back to us.”

The karma phenomenon is highly divisive for some, but I can attest that it truly exists. New Age guru, Deepak Chopra explains that karma is all about the choices we make. Every choice that we make will contribute to our future destiny.

Let me explain this a little better by using an example. My commute to work takes one hour in the subway, which allows me to do many things. I can sit there and play Beyoncé’s new album (no disrespect, bey), I can read for fun, or I can bring my homework and read it on the train. I usually like to read for fun, and sometimes I like to read my homework, and other times I just want to relax and listen to Beyoncé.

photo-12

My current read.

In the past year, I often brought books to read for fun. Most of the time I decide to read spiritual books, which in turn has led me to write this blog! It’s kind of crazy, but this had truly led me to believe in karma. Hopefully this karma will lead me to a good grade in the class that I’m doing this blog for.

However, karma is more powerful that this. We can use karma to spread kindness and love. Hence, we can give to others in order to receive from the Universe.

“Make a decision to give wherever you go, to whomever you see. As long as you’re giving, you will be receiving. The more you give, the more confidence you will gain in the miraculous effects of this law. And as you receive more, your ability to give more will also increase,” Chopra wrote in The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success.

Chopra writes in his book, that the more we practice giving, we should expect to receive. This does not mean that if I decide to volunteer at a homeless shelter, I’m going to be expecting to receive $100 later on in the week. It is important to remember that we cannot expect anything from giving to others. We must expect only love in return, and this may come in the most subtle ways.

Another example. My mother and I used to have a rocky relationship the year of 2012. I rarely called her while I was away in college. That same semester, I did not even bother to visit my parents for spring break, and decided to spend it in my college dorm. I was mad at her for silly things that I could not put off. On 2013, I decided to be a better person and call her more often. We constantly spoke about how things were at home, and I spoke to her about my issues at school and work. Slowly, but surely, we both came around and our relationship blossomed. Today, my mother and I have had the strongest mother-son relationship I could ever ask for.

Here’s what I learned from this experience with my mom; I gave her the time of day, and in return she gave me the time of day too. I used to always tune her out whenever she wanted to speak with me. Now that I call and listen to her, she has gained more trust in me to be there for her, and in turn she has been there for me.

For many college students that are away living on-campus, we often forget about our family members. I get it. We lived with them for 18 years (or more) and we just want to get out! I was there too. Depending on your situation, it’s always good to keep in contact with your family at least twice a week. Even just to say ‘hi.’ If you spoke to them more often, you may gain a stronger relationship with them. This is what karma is all about.

There’s many ways to be in positive control of karma. For instance, you can volunteer through your college campus ministry, or smile to a complete stranger. The act can be so simple, yet so powerful. Whatever it may be, it’s imperative to make decisions that positively affect others, so that in return the Universe will hit you back with something amazing.

1 thought on “The Power of Karma

Leave a comment